What happens now the IMDb message boards have gone?

I was recently approached by Guardian journalist/freelance writer, Lara Williams on how I felt about IMDb’s decision.  You can read her article, and more of my opinion here.

I knew it was coming.  I’d been pre-warned every time I went into the app, that February 20th 2017 was the day.  Yet, out of habit, I still went on this morning to check if someone else could explain the major plot holes in a film I recently watched (it was called Lights Out FYI).  But sadly, the IMDb message boards were gone.

screen-shot-2017-02-20-at-20-54-01

You might be thinking, what’s all the fuss?!  Just search #RIPIMDb or #SaveIMDb on Twitter and you’ll find many other people joining me in this day of mourning.  Okay, that’s a little extreme, but it does feel like the end of an era.  There’s also a petition.

To me, it wasn’t just a message board/forum – it was an online community.  I studied Film and Media at Queen Margaret University, so I watch a film with an analytical head.   The message boards let me geek out & find out other people’s opinions, analysis, or anything I may have missed.  (They also made me procrastinate A LOT whilst I was at Uni, whoops!)
I understand that the boards attracted trolls which is one of the reasons’ for IMDb’s decision.  But I don’t think their comments were anything you couldn’t just ignore.  The ‘serious’ contributors to the boards usually had something interesting to say, definitely enriching my film experiences.

There are thousands of pages on IMDb dedicated to specific films and tv shows, that all had their own related board – where will people comment now?  Will it all just be directed on social?  I don’t really understand how that will work, but I am intrigued as to what comes next.

Did you use the IMDb message boards? Will you miss them?  I would love to know!

Thanks for reading,

E x

Leave a Reply

